Putrajaya, 2 Dec – In commemorating the 50th anniversary of ASEAN (Association Of Southeast Asian Nations) and its diplomatic ties with China, the inaugural ASEAN-China Film Festival 2017 (ACFF 2017) in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from Dec 1-4 in has officially begun today with the auspicious opening ceremony taking place at Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC). Organized by ASEAN Finance Agency, Guangxi Arts University of China and Farlim Group (Malaysia) Bhd with the People’s Government of Xiamen as a co-organizer, ACFF 2017 showcases 31 including 11 competition films, from China and 10 ASEAN countries are respectively vying for the five main awards: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and the Special Jury Award to be announced on Dec 4 at PICC.

In her opening remarks, the ASEAN-China Centre (ACC) Secretary General, H.E. Mme. Yang Xiuping highlighted the significance of ACFF in deepening ASEAN-China cultural and economic relations. “Our burgeoning relations at this festival can be highly manifested across range of areas from development cooperation spheres in film forum, screenings, award ceremony and market” she further said.

Screened at GSC outlets in Pavilion KL, Mid Valley, MyTown from Dec 3-4, the selected films include Malaysia’s award winning film by Tan Seng Kiat, Shuttle Life and James Lee’s Modern Day Love Stories; Singapore/Ah Boys to Men 4 and Long Long Time Ago 2; Indonesia/ #66 and Pirate Brothers; Cambodia/Price of Love and Selfie King; Philippines/Women of the Weeping River and Birdshot, Myanmar/By Coincidence and Lat Pan, Thailand/ Wandering and Song from Phatthalung; Vietnam/ Saigon I Love You; Brunei/Waris, Laos/At the Horizon, Swan Lifts Turtles, Vientiane in Love, and Really Love; and Brunei-Laos production Rina 2. Meanwhile, Wolf Warrior 2, Kung Fu Yoga, Shock Wave, Xuan Zang, Saving Mr Wu, Book of Love: Finding Mr Right 2 and Where Has the Time Gone have been officially selected to represent China.

Supported by Embassy of China in Malaysia, ASEAN Secretariat, Ministry of Communications and Multimedia Malaysia, National Film Development Corporation Malaysia (FINAS), Malaysia-China Friendship Association and Malaysian Chinese Cultural Society, the opening ceremony was also graced by H.E Lin Yin, Vice President of China-ASEAN Association, H.E Mr. Vongthep Arthakaivalvatee, Secretary-General of ASEAN, Datuk Musa Yusof, Senior Director International Promotion Division (Asia/Africa) Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia and Mr. S. Letchumanan, Secretary International Division, Ministry of Communications and Multimedia Malaysia.


**Film tickets will be available free of charge to audiences at respective outlets GSC Pavilion, GSC Mid Valley & GSC My Town on the first come first serve basis. Please kindly log onto GSC or Cinema Online website for the screening schedule and related info.

For further information, please contact Mr. Tommy, Mr Leo
Email: asean_movie@sina.com or
Tel: 011 – 5156 0960 / 014 – 6977 542