Kuala Lumpur, 3rd March – The 2nd Malaysia Golden Global Awards (MGGA) organised by Jazzy Group Sdn Bhd with the support from the National Film Development Corporation (FINAS) was held at the Plenary Hall, Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre today. Tesnota (Closeness), by Russian film director Kantemir Balagov has victoriously won 4 awards including the Best Film Award. At 2017 Cannes Film Festival, it bagged the FIPRESCI Prize in the Un Certain Regard section.

Nominated for six categories, Malaysian multiple award winning film, ‘Shuttle Life’ by Tan Seng Kiat has triumphantly won Best Audience Choice Award while Daphne Low from Edmund Yeo’s award winning ‘Aqerat’ was also nominated in the Best Actress category in this prestigious award ceremony.

With the ultimate mission to celebrate the power of cinema and the greatest craft of filmmakers across the world, MGGA gathered filmmakers from Taiwan, Korea, Iran, Indonesia, Afghanistan, Russia and more in building magnetic synergy through the voices of good films. MGGA is held in conjunction with the 2nd Malaysia International Film Festival (MIFFest), gracing the event include Ms. Joanne Goh, Chairman of MIFFest and MGGA, Ms. Sinje Lee, Ambassador of MGGA, Mr. Kim Dong Ho, Honorary President, Mr. Brilliante Mendoza, President Jury of MGGA, Dain Said, Jury of MGGA, MGGA’s list of juries, selection committee members, local and international industry players, lists of sponsors and the media.

Winners of 2nd Malaysia Golden Global Awards:

Best New Director: Kantemir Balagov/Tesnota (Russia)
Best Screenplay: Vivian Qu/ Angels Wear White (China)
Best Cinematography: Anggi Frisca/The Seen an Unseen (Indonesia)
Best Supporting Actress: Zhou Mei Jun/Angels Wear White (China)
Best Supporting Actor: Artem Cipin/Tesnota (Russia)
Best Actress: Darya Zhofnar/ Tesnota (Russia)
Best Actor: Hameed Behdad/ Blockage (Iran)
Best Director: Vivian Qu/Angels Wear White (China)
Best Film: Tesnota (Russia)
New Hope Award: A Letter To The President (Afghanistan)
Audience Choice Award: Shuttle Life (Malaysia)
Lifetime Achievement Award: Ann Hui