Kuala Lumpur, Aug 26- The 3rd Young Filmmakers Workshop 2017 has successfully ended today at Hotel Sentral, Kuala Lumpur, with the highly awaited announcement of its two selected finalists; Ariff Syafzan & Benedict Jeremy Lazaroo who were officially named to represent Malaysia at the upcoming ASEAN-Republic Of Korea Film Leaders Incubator: FLY 2017 program in Jogjakarta, Indonesia held from 20 November to 3 December 2017. With the presence of Director of Busan Film Commission, Mr. Choi Yoon, Head of FINAS Training Division, Ms. Habibah Zainal Abidin and Assistant Director of Training, Ms. Siti Nor Aiysha, this third edition workshop by FINAS and Next New Wave has also presented the additional Mentors’ Special Mention to Chew Boon Wai.

“We are extremely proud and thrilled to be named as the finalists. This amazing workshop has been a momentous journey for all of us and thank you FINAS, Next New Wave, mentors and everyone involved for building this platform to foster and encourage new talent” Ariff and Benedict said.

Happening from 19 to 26 August in Kuala Lumpur, the 12 selected young filmmakers across Malaysia have been intensively trained in various filmmaking aspects under four prolific mentors; the renowned Southeast Asian filmmakers, Anocha Suwichakornpong from Thailand (production), French-Cambodian filmmaker Davy Chou (directing), Indonesian cinematographer, Sidi Salleh (cinematography) and Carlo Francisco Manatad from the Philippines (editing) who have interactively shared invaluable knowledge and experiences in their respective fields.

In 2016 edition, the award winning young filmmaker, Putri Purnama Sugua who was chosen to represent Malaysia, has scored and honoured with the Asian Film Academy Scholarship upon her graduation from the Asean-ROK Film Leaders Incubator: FLY2016 filmmaking workshop in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. As the scholarship recipient, Putri will represent Malaysia at the Asian Film Academy this year, which has produced notable successful Asean filmmakers such as Bradley Liew (Malaysia), Yoseop Anggi Noen (Indonesia) and Boo Jun Feng (Singapore).